May 2 2016 to Jan 5 2020
Saturday and Sunday, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
A chapel that has stood the test of time
The first chapel was built on this site in 1750. The original burned down in 1888, and a second was built according to plans by architect Joseph-Ferdinand Peachy (1830–1903). The chapel was consecrated in 1900. Mass was celebrated daily, as well as Vespers on Sunday. These services were attended by priests, seminarians, professors, and students from Petit Séminaire and Université Laval.
The architecture is worth the detour. The Second Empire style architecture is reminiscent of the Trinité church in Paris. It includes a high altar and secondary altars of white marble as well as red cherry woodwork.
The chapel was deconsecrated in 1992 and is now part of Musée de l'Amérique francophone, often playing host to concerts and lectures. It remains a wonderful place to discover.
- The Casavant organ, manufactured in 1930
- The Richard organ, an exact reconstruction of the Québec Cathedral organ built in 1753 by Robert Richard and destroyed in 1759 during the siege of the city
- The lateral chapel altars designed by Adolphe Garneau (1874–1962), a priest and teacher at Séminaire de Québec
- The stained glass windows depicting saints and clergymen, created by Wallace J. Fischer, an artist with Maison Leonard, Quebec City's first stained glass window manufacturer
- The relics kept at the chapel, which are part of Canada's largest collection of relics. Some 600 of them were brought from Europe by Monsignor Joseph-Calixte Marquis (1821–1904), an avid collector and former Séminaire student
- Madonna with Angels, by Antoine Dieu (1662–1727)
- Saint Anthony of Padua, by Murillo (1616–1682), in the lateral chapel on the left, near the nave