David Kirke and His Brothers (˜ 1597–˜ 1654)

1628–1632

David Kirke was born around 1597 in Dieppe, France, to a family of merchants. He was the eldest of the five sons—followed by Lewis, Thomas, John and James—of Jarvis Kirke, a wealthy trader who conducted business in France and England.

When war broke out between France and England in 1627, King Charles I commissioned David and his brothers to conquer Canada in the name of England. In 1628, the Kirke Brothers made an unsuccessful attempt to take Québec City. The following year, backed by the Company of Adventurers to Canada and better prepared, the Kirkes reappeared on the St. Lawrence River. Incapable of bearing the siege any longer, Champlain surrendered and was forced to leave Québec, which was occupied by the Kirkes until 1632. The signing of the Treaty of Saint-Germain-en-Laye in 1632 forced the Kirkes to restore Québec to the French. David Kirke later became governor of Newfoundland and continued to serve the English Crown in this capacity. In the end, Kirke was imprisoned for various reasons and accusations, and died around 1654 while serving his sentence.

When news of the events that took place from 1628 to 1632 reached France, the French-born Kirke brothers were burned in effigy because their actions were considered treason. Years later, the Kirkes were naturalized as English citizens and knighted in recognition of their exploits that led to the occupation of Québec.

SUGGESTED READING

Allaire, B. “L’occupation de Québec par les frères Kirke,” in R. Litalien and Denis Vaugeois (ed.), Champlain. La naissance de l’Amérique française, Québec, Septentrion and Nouveau Monde éditions, 2004, pp. 245–257.

Moir, J.S. “Kirke, David,”  “Kirke, Lewis” and “Kirke, Thomas,” Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, V. I: “De l’an 1000 à 1700,” Québec, Les Presses de l’Université Laval, 1967, pp. 416–420.

David Kirke et ses frères (˜ 1597 - ˜ 1654)

1628-1632

David Kirke est né vers 1597 à Dieppe, en France. Il est issu d’une famille marchande et l’aîné des fils – Lewis, Thomas, John et James – de Jarvis Kirke. Négociant fortuné, ce dernier fait des affaires en France et en Angleterre.

En 1627, à la suite de l’entrée en guerre de la France et de l’Angleterre, le roi Charles 1er mandate David et ses frères pour conquérir le Canada en son nom. En 1628, les frères Kirke tentent, sans succès, de s’emparer de Québec. L’année suivante, soutenus par la Company of Adventurers to Canada et mieux préparés, les Kirke réapparaissent sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent. Incapable de soutenir le siège plus longtemps, Champlain capitule et doit quitter Québec que les Kirke occupent jusqu’en 1632. La signature du traité de paix de Saint-Germain-en-Laye de 1632 oblige les Kirke à rendre Québec. Plus tard, David Kirke devient gouverneur de Terre-Neuve et continue ainsi de servir la Couronne anglaise. Finalement, pour diverses raisons et accusations, il sera emprisonné et décédera pendant sa détention vers 1654.

Pendant le déroulement des événements de 1628-1632, des Français métropolitains brûlent des effigies des frères Kirke, nés en France et donc considérés comme des traîtres à la patrie. Des années plus tard, les Kirke obtiennent la citoyenneté anglaise et des titres en guise de récompense pour leurs exploits qui ont mené à l’occupation de Québec.

SUGGESTIONS DE LECTURE

ALLAIRE, B. « L’occupation de Québec par les frères Kirke », dans R. Litalien et D. Vaugeois (dir.), Champlain : la naissance de l’Amérique française, Paris et Sillery, Nouveau Monde éditions et Septentrion, 2004, p. 245-257.

MOIR, J. S. « Kirke, David », « Kirke, Lewis » et « Kirke, Thomas », Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, t. I : « De l’an 1000 à 1700 », Québec, Les Presses de l’Université Laval, 1967, p. 416-420.